Posted by: livingaboardspellbound | October 7, 2012

Space… Is there ever enough?

I knew living on a sailboat would have its challenges, space is probably in the top 5 of them. before we moved on I had some ideas of how I would arrange things to make life run smoothly. I read blogs, books, and scoured the forums for any tips and tricks I could find. All of these resources were very helpful but until you move aboard and actually start “living” it is difficult to say what will work for you in the space you have.

I found this to be most evident in the galley. You know they say the kitchen is the “heart of the home” and this is still true on boat. After living on the boat for a few weeks I found that I really didn’t like to cook because it was really inconvenient and I didn’t like the 2 burner alcohol stove I had because nit didn’t get hot enough and you had to keep the hatch open for ventilation, and in the heat of a Florida summer this is not practical, so we were spending a ton of money on eating out.  First thing I decided to try was was buying a grill. Great idea but the Florida weather wasn’t cooperating. It is really hard to grill in the rain, so on to the next idea. we had been discussing what kind of oven/stove we should buy and would it fit in the space we had. We discussed propane but we don’t have room inside for a propane locker.  It would be quite an endeavor to install propane lines and hang a propane tank off the back of the boat, so for the time being we have nixed that idea. We decided to purchase an induction cook-top and a convection toaster oven for now and both fit perfectly in the allotted space. Update to come later after some real life use…

When I was planning how I would store groceries I thought that the hanging locker in the v berth would make a great pantry. So, I set my husband on a mission to put shelves in it to put all the groceries on. He got busy on his task and after a few tries and lots of colorful venting I was the proud owner of a pantry. I also appropriated two lower shelves under the v berth for this purpose. I used it for several weeks and found that I really did not like the set up because it was difficult to get to the food in the back and it was really hard to see what was in there. So last week I scoured the website www.cruisersforum.com and the book “The Best Tips From Women Aboard” (ISBN#0-9663520-1-7) and between the two came up with a new strategy.

What I gleaned from these two resources and the change in appliances has truly improved my enjoyment and convenience  of cooking. I now have a “day locker”, it is where I put all the dry ingredients I need for the next 2-3 days so that they are handy while cooking. Now everything I need is right in front of the cooking area and I have eliminated having to look for the ingredients for the dish I am making. I replenish the locker every 2-3 days as needed.

I then moved all of the items I had in the v berth area to the cabinet under the sink, so now everything is in the galley area. I put all the less used items in the storage under the settees. They are still accessible but out of the way.

Making things accessible, easy to use, and convenient a just some of the keys to success when transitioning to boat life. Just remember that nothing is written in stone when planning how and where to store things, if it’s not working for you change it!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

femINine

Modern Womanhood, for REAL.

The Seamless Sailor

Self-reliant sewing for sailors

Three at Sea

Passages on a Cruising Life

A tale of two newbie sailors and their quest to sail the Caribbean

Knotty Cat Tales

A tale of two newbie sailors and their quest to sail the Caribbean

EscapeRoot

Just another WordPress.com site

