Posted by: livingaboardspellbound | January 7, 2013

Bimini… repair or replace?

Our bimini has seen better days. The seams are coming apart and there are bare areas in areas of stress. The big question is… try to repair it or replace it? And if I choose the repair path, do I try to do it myself or have it done by a professional. I do own a sewing machine and know how to use it but I have never tried this type of project. What I don’t want is for our boat to look like the Beverly Hillbillies live on it but I also don’t want to have to pay an arm and a leg for a new one. I also want to have a full enclosure made as well and that is something I’m not sure I have the skills for. There is a school in Palmetto, Fl called Marine Canvas Training Institute, they have a program there to teach all things Bimini but it is a bit pricy for the week long class. Guess the place to start is to get an estimate or two and see what the damage is cost wise…. Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

Categories

femINine

Modern Womanhood, for REAL.

The Seamless Sailor

Self-reliant sewing for sailors

Three at Sea

Passages on a Cruising Life

A tale of two newbie sailors and their quest to sail the Caribbean

Knotty Cat Tales

A tale of two newbie sailors and their quest to sail the Caribbean

EscapeRoot

Just another WordPress.com site

