Posted by: livingaboardspellbound | March 24, 2013

Bakeware for small galley ovens

I really love my Seaward 3 burner stove/oven since hubby installed it. I love cooking on gas and the ability cook more than one thing at a time, something I was unable to do with my nu wave induction top. But most of all I love having an oven. I love to bake and make casseroles. The only problem I found was that conventional bakeware and casserole dishes are too big for a galley oven. So I started scouring the stores for smaller pans. Casserole dishes are easier to find but can get quite pricy. I love thrift stores and so when I was out on a “treasure” hunt I found this great older Pyrex casserole dish for $1.16!

20130324-184647.jpg
It is a 6×10 1 1/2QT dish and is a great teal blue. It is also the perfect size for my husband and I and maybe a lunch since it can be difficult to store a lot of leftovers.
I was unsuccessful in finding small bakeware such as cookie sheets. Most are 15″ long and my limit was 12″. So I did find some on the Internet at this siteThe Bakers Kitchen and here Nordicware. But I’m not a great online shopper since I am an instant gratification kinda girl and I don’t like to pay shipping. So I went to our local Bed Bath And Beyond and found the same NordicWare that was offered online cheaper. I found these for $6.99 each.

20130324-190000.jpg

20130324-190009.jpg
The small pan is also a cookie sheet so I bought 2 of those without the grate. They are 6×8″ and two of them will fit side by side in my oven.
My last find was a small muffin pan, very common but again, can get pricy for a nice one. I found this on at my local T J Maxx for $5.99.

20130324-190502.jpg
It is made by Wolfgang Puck and is 8×12″ and has a non stick finish.
So now the question is, what to bake?

Leave a Reply

Categories

femINine

Modern Womanhood, for REAL.

The Seamless Sailor

Self-reliant sewing for sailors

Three at Sea

Passages on a Cruising Life

A tale of two newbie sailors and their quest to sail the Caribbean

Knotty Cat Tales

A tale of two newbie sailors and their quest to sail the Caribbean

EscapeRoot

Just another WordPress.com site

