Posted by: livingaboardspellbound | November 6, 2013

Almost time to go home…

As you know, I have been in California working as a travel RN to fund the outfitting of the boat. My time here is almost at an end, which is bittersweet. On one hand I am ready to get home to see my family and friends, but on the other I have really enjoyed this time that I have out here with my extended family. It has been a time of reminiscing old times and forming new relationships with cousins I haven’t met or seen since they were babies. My aunt and uncle have been so gracious to let me live with them and I hope I wasn’t too much of a bother. Thank you Aunt Elsie and Uncle Lenny!
Now, on to what has been happening at home to the boat. Hubby has been a busy bee getting things installed for our departure. Solar panels are up and batteries are charging! What a great thing to know we will be living off the grid!

20131106-104720.jpg

20131106-112956.jpg
He also installed an amp meter to tell us how much energy we are using and how much we are making. This is really important to know since we don’t want the refrigerator and freezer to lose power.

20131106-113113.jpg
We upgraded to a new chart plotter/GPS made by B&G that is made for sailing and that will communicate with the autopilot and weather station. Hubby built a box out of starboard to hold the chart plotter and Raymarine auto pilot head. It is mounted on the binnacle.

20131106-111054.jpg
A new radio with AIS was installed as our old one was just that… OLD! And when he installed it he found that all the wiring was corroded and falling apart so all of that was replaced as well. The radio is made by Simrad.

20131106-113622.jpg
The next big project is the water maker install. We order our water maker from DIY Watermakers. We met the founder/owner of the company at the St. Pete boat show and was really impressed with the product and ease of installation and care of system. It is on order and will be on hubby’s to do list for next week.
Once I get home there will be lots of smaller projects still on the agenda and we will have about 3 weeks to button things up. I have my own projects to complete as well. Our 5 year plan is so close to realization!
I fly home on Sunday night and Monday the race begins!

Leave a Reply

Categories

femINine

Modern Womanhood, for REAL.

The Seamless Sailor

Self-reliant sewing for sailors

Three at Sea

Passages on a Cruising Life

A tale of two newbie sailors and their quest to sail the Caribbean

Knotty Cat Tales

A tale of two newbie sailors and their quest to sail the Caribbean

EscapeRoot

Just another WordPress.com site

